1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Another graduate school question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Confusion, Nov 15, 2006.

1. Confusion

Confusion New Member

I know we had one of these recently, but my situation is a little bit different.

I have about seven years of full-time experience at a couple of 40,000-100,000 papers. I have an APSE award, etc. and some good clips. But here's the thing: I got in this business to win Pulitzers and change the world. Most of us lose that. I guess I'm starting to realize that I haven't.

But I have very little in terms of connections that matter in this business - and on top of that, my paper's Web site is a pay site, so very little exposure. And, in reality, not quite the training and background I need to take things to the next level (my J-school was middling, at best).

I read the New York Times, Washington Post, L.A. Times, Rolling Stone, etc., and think, "That's what I want. I want to go for it," but I don't think I ever got the proper training, connections or exposure to make it to that level. I work in a great environment with great people, but their ambitions essentially stop here - they're not the type to really tear apart your stuff and keep polishing you for the next level. Nothing wrong with that, but I'm at a bit of a crossroads where I feel if I don't make a play for the big time in some way, I'll have major regrets.

I am considering going the graduate school route - but only at one of the "Big Three," Missouri, Northwestern or Columbia.

My question: does this seem absolutely insane? Or are there no rewards in life with no risks?