1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

An ethics question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by NQLBLQ, Nov 26, 2008.

1. NQLBLQ

NQLBLQ Member

I’ll try and word this as best as I can while attempting to keep all parties anonymous.

I worked as a reporter for a local paper for a few years and I covered Big State U. In that time I was a columnist (who didn’t think Big State U. was “all that and a bag of potato chips”) and managed to unearth some academic issues that got Big State U. a bit upset.

The SID took noticeable exception to me and my work. I would get emails from him every so often, he would talk down to me whenever we had any type of communication and he denied credential requests under my name a few times until either my editor, or I, walked into his office.

After I left, he informed my former employer that I am not to use the credentials offered to the paper for any reason or they would be taken away.

I had a couple of freelance opportunities to cover Big Stat U. as I am still in the relative area. The first one, I showed up with the person I was freelancing for and the SID takes the guy aside and (from what I’m told by said guy and his assistant) explodes that I “Can’t fucking be trusted.”

I am almost fired because of it.

Second time, same basic idea, sans the cursing. This time it was a direct response to a credential request. Then I get a call from the editor I’m writing for, and he is asking all types of questions and making sure I’m not going to get drunk and use this as a “free ticket” to a game.