1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Alumni phone calls

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by spup1122, May 2, 2007.

1. spup1122

spup1122 Guest

I just got the first phone call I've gotten from my university since graduating. They were, of course, asking for money, but the girl who called me was also asking advice since my degree situation was similar to hers.

I should have told her that she was crazy for getting her degree in communications with a minor in history, but since I got my degree in sociology with a minor in communications, I thought it might be a little hypocritical.

One question she did ask was if I recommended grad school. I didn't know how to answer the question because I'm really torn on going back to school myself, but I told her that I really thought that it was better to go back to get a masters after working for a few years. I mean, first of all, you'll be bringing real life experience back to the classroom which should help with the demands of grad school. Additionally, I couldn't imagine paying the ridiculous costs of grad school and then hating the subject I chose to pursue for my masters. If I would have gone back to school and gotten my masters in social work like I had planned after my sophomore year, I would be miserable. I love working with kids; I hate working with kids in a residential setting.

Has anyone else gotten calls from their university asking for money that turned into an advice session? I enjoyed the conversation, I just wonder what others would say with the same questions.

2. Clever username

Clever username Active Member