1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Alumni donations

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by moonlight, Mar 20, 2007.

1. moonlight

moonlight Member

I've been working at a daily for 10 years. I cover the local college's football and basketball.

The other night, I got a call from the alumni office at my alma mater, which happens to be the same college I cover on my beat. The guy on the line wanted me to donate money to the school.

I didn't donate anything because I consider it a conflict of interest. Anyone agree/disagree?

2. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

You'll have time to donate to them later, after you're off the beat or out of the job.

In the meantime, you have to be careful not to appear to have any conflicts of interest. And donating to the school, while it would be a small one (assume you'rre not giving $10 million) but a potential one nonetheless.

3. leo1

leo1 Active Member

yup, it's a conflict of interest. it strains credulity to believe you would actually have an influence on the athletic department if you donate a few hundred - or even a few thousand - bucks but COI is all about appearances.

that said, nothing should stop you from donating to the physics or english or journalism school.

4. John

John Well-Known Member

I see no problem with donating to the school, just not anything associated with the athletic department.

5. novelist_wannabe

novelist_wannabe Well-Known Member

Make the donation in your wife's name. Or, if you don't have a wife, your mom, your dad, or even your dog. Unless you absolutely, positively have to have that tax deduction.