1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Advice on video for newbie

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Babs, Aug 26, 2009.

1. Babs

Babs Member

Very soon I will need to make some short videos -- game action clips and post-game comments from coaches. I do not even own my own video camera, so I'm a real beginner here. That said, I'm confident that I can learn.

Any advice, specifically on the post-game comments? I'll have to ask the questions while doing it, it won't be a scrum situation. Tips on editing? Editing software?

Help!

:-*

2. Den1983

Den1983 Active Member

We use Windows Media Movie Maker to edit. It's already on our computers. It's beginner-like, but simple and does the job.

As far as interviews, ask one or two questions at most. Shouldn't take longer than 45 seconds to a minute. Piece of cake.

It takes a while to get the hang of, but it's pretty fun.

3. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

When interviewing, switch between using shots of the coach talking and game action that pertains to the interview, while keeping the coach's voice track as the main audio.

I use Final Cut Express at my shop for that and it works well. If the paper is buying a video camera, buy a shotgun mic for it if it is capable of taking one. The built-in mics are horrible.

4. Babs

Babs Member

I'm told that the camera I'll use cannot take a better mic. Any tips in this case?

This has been helpful so far.

5. PCLoadLetter

PCLoadLetter Well-Known Member

Use the zoom as little as possible. You'll need it a little bit for football, but the less you use it the better.