1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Advice for former journalism grad?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Stephen Varga, Apr 6, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Stephen Varga

Stephen Varga New Member

Hello all, thanks in advance for reading. This is my first time posting here so apologies if this is out of order. I was hoping to ask you all for a bit of guidance or advice if you have any to spare. I'm a journalism graduate from the University of Arizona back in 2011. I did writing internships with both the Arizona Daily Star and the PAC 12 website, and growing up I always wanted to work as a sports reporter. However, shortly after I graduated both of my parents were diagnosed with separate cases of rare forms of cancer, and sadly they both passed away.

I don't intend for this to be a sob sorry and I apologize if it seems that way. It's just that as an only child I basically had to take care of them full time during the ordeal, and my career aspirations in journalism were put on hold. It was hard, and I was mentally drained for a number of years following everything that happened. In the years following my parents' passing I worked a number of odd jobs here and there to pay the bills, but never doing anything related to my degree. As more time passed I just assumed that I was done with journalism (or rather that journalism was done with me); that I was a victim of circumstance, and that fate had decided that life as a writer just wasn't meant to be. My passion and motivation for writing seemed to fade away.