1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

a story

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by friend of the friendless, Jan 12, 2008.

1. friend of the friendless

friend of the friendless Active Member

Sirs, Madames,

I was asked by alma mater (not that I graduated) to write something for the journalism-school magazine. Something first-personish about the life of a sportswriter. Ordinarily I wouldn't touch it--especially for no dough--but maybe it's a mitzvah that the faculty might return by allowing my daughter into a program. Rather than something self-congratulatory--about being some paragon of journo-standards--I opted to write about one of my low points. It's only in the draft stage. Can anyone read (or decode) it?

Beware the Irishman Bearing Writs: The author would be relieved if you burned this story after reading it

I am the son of an Irishman but I won’t visit my father’s homeland until a man who knows many tough men is safely in his grave.

Did I get your attention?

You know that there’s a story here and I can tell you most of it. Everything, really, except some names, especially the name of the man who knows many tough men and also the precise layouts of high courts in several jurisdictions. That man also knows many Irish lawyers. I know only one Irish lawyer—actually, only one lawyer at all—and he gives me sage counsel only when he’s stark naked.

Are you still with me?

Okay, some background. Please accept that everything that follows here is true.