1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

A question/looking advice about applying to journalism jobs

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Carlos Ganarial, Aug 28, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Carlos Ganarial

Carlos Ganarial New Member

Hello,

I'm new to the site, it's wonderful to be here.

I have a question about applying to jobs within the industry given my situation.

I graduated college with a journalism degree in 2016. However, half way through my degree I started to coach high school football and I fell in love with it. I thought this was going to be my future so I got a job substitute teaching right after college and worked other part time jobs to save up enough money to get my teaching credentials and pursue a career in coaching.

Through the last two years I have found out teaching is not for me and as much as I love coaching the sport I don't think I can commit my life to teaching.

I do want sports to be apart of my life and I do have experience writing/editing my college news paper along with a degree.

My question is: how does applying to jobs with such a gap in relevant work experience work and if it's detrimental to my applications, how do I over come it?

Liut likes this.
  2. spikechiquet

spikechiquet Well-Known Member

A two-year gap isn't much. And you can pretty much explain what you have been doing pretty quickly in a cover letter and resume. Your clips are more important anyway.
    Good luck. It's a bitch out there to find a job right now.

Liut likes this.
  3. Liut

Liut Well-Known Member

Good advice, Spike. Good luck, Carlos.

4. WriteThinking

WriteThinking Well-Known Member