1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

A question for beat writers - does this piss you off?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by lantaur, Jan 10, 2007.

1. lantaur

lantaur Well-Known Member

As a beat writer, I'm guessing most of you only get access after games like everyone else - via press conferences or open locker rooms.

However, does it tick you off when a national writer comes in (say from ESPN/ESPN.com or SI/SI.com) and the media relations people make sure he/she gets a 1-on-1 with a player or coach which you couldn't get? Or do you think this just part of the sports journalism food chain?

2. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

I've been on both sides of this.

I was always much more pissed when my access was infringed upon in order to help out the TV guys.

Bleep them.

3. Yes, that would piss me off.

It's happened a few times on my beat. I let the SID know it's bullshit. Then I move on.

4. you can't get 1-on-1s when you need them with guys on the team you cover?

5. Shaggy

Shaggy Guest

Rarely. Half my job is college football, which practices the exact opposite of good media relations.

But yes, national writers often swoop in and get 1-on-1's. Andy Katz, for one, won't do any interview except a 1-on-1 from what I've seen. He feels he's too good for pool interviews, I assume.

6. slappy4428

slappy4428 Active Member

This sort of thing has happened with Saban twice already.
    After his hire, he sat down with three south Florida papers after the original presser in Tuscaloosa -- and no Bama media.