1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

A question about blogs

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by I Should Coco, Apr 13, 2021.

1. I Should Coco

I Should Coco Well-Known Member

Let's get this part out of the way first: I know I'm a technology dinosaur. Yes, about 20 years after the rest of society, I'm looking to write essays (about transportation/travel issues) and post them online, rather than in print.

For years I either did this for the newspaper I worked for, or printed out essays and mailed (yes, U.S. mail) them to friends, former coworkers, etc. I've been doing the latter, off and on, since I graduated from college in 1994.

I've crossed a bridge in my professional life and am finally deciding to put these things online. The question is where.

What's a good site for setting up a blog? How much of a fee (up front and/or monthly) are we talking about? Am I jumping aboard an online horse that's already on its last legs?

This luddite thanks anyone and everyone for their help on this question.

Liut likes this.
  2. jackfinarelli

jackfinarelli Well-Known Member

Liut and I Should Coco like this.
  3. justgladtobehere

justgladtobehere Well-Known Member

I believe blogger.com is the simplest if all you want to do is publish essays. Something like Medium allows for subscriptions.

Liut likes this.
  4. BYH 2: Electric Boogaloo

BYH 2: Electric Boogaloo Well-Known Member

BLOGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [/TheClassics]

5. SoloFlyer

SoloFlyer Well-Known Member

Wordpress.com