1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Some advice?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by bl67550, Dec 2, 2009.

1. bl67550

bl67550 Member

Hey guys, Ive been browsing your boards for a few days, it was nice to find a little site like this that displays such a comprehensive look at the jobs available out there.
    Im not sure if I'm allowed a topic like this but Ill give it a shot and see what happens.
    Im 24 and at a crossroads; I have been working freelance for several newspapers for the past two years and am now back in college where Im attempting to finish up a professional writing(english) degree and move on to the real job market.
    However, from the sad starting quality I've witnessed in the newspaper business(primarily pay but also the possibility of relocation to a less-than-desirable location) I have started to strongly consider a PR job in sports.
    So my question I guess is what is the best avenue?
    At this point I just want to be able to live relatively where I want to and find a decent paying job and perhaps have the possibility of advancement to the pros.
    I've been working at the students newspaper at AppState, but I quit that once I started to question my career path.
    Do you guys think there would be good opportunities for internship on campus towards the PR path?
    Any and all advice would be much appreciated, Im really just struggling to find my way in this field right now, I know there can be money in sports, I just need the start..the hardest part right?
    Thanks all,
    Bryan

2. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member