1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Startup advice needed

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by BballBenGood2Me, Nov 8, 2009.

1. BballBenGood2Me

BballBenGood2Me New Member

New Internet concept needs some advice. Before you begin realize I'm a journalistic noob so guide me if you can with the understanding that, eventually, I'd like to see some people here making some money.

1. Imagine that I have blogs willing to submit articles to me for editing before they post and when they submit an article the request goes into a que that only approved commissioned editors can see. How should I set up the que:

a) editors are added based on available time & day slots - the time the request hits the que dominates
    b) first to the que gets the work as long as it's completed in a timely manner
    c) share and share alike

2. What do you consider to be a reasonable charge to 'light edit' 1,000 word articles from bloggers. By that I mean spelling, grammer, and any suggestive warnings (ie: you stated this as a fact - do you have two sources?). The writer will remain responsible for their work - all we would be doing is assisting them with better copy.

If you have suggestions, please feel free to add them below.

2. 21

21 Well-Known Member

1. queue
    2. grammar

Not sure what you should charge for a 'light edit' but you should charge more for spelling the words right.

3. BballBenGood2Me

and why I need editors for this project. :)

4. mustangj17

mustangj17 Active Member

If you want real advice, I would say don't do this. There are already like 400 internet sites like this.