1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Questions for a journalist

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by mmsteelers, Sep 23, 2008.

1. mmsteelers

mmsteelers New Member

Hi, I have chosen to major in journalism (I am a freshman at Kent State), preferably a sports journalism. Since I want to be a journalist, I would like to interview people who are journalists already. If anyone who is already a journalist, could you please answer the following questions:

What are the goods and bads of your profession?
    What are the education requirements?
    What is the difficulty level of your profession?
    Do you enjoy your profession?
    What background experience is needed for your profession?
    How many hours do you work?
    What influenced you to be a journalist?
    What are the basic work requirements of your job?
    What do you primarily write about or report (obviously sports)?
    How did you get to where you are now? (How did you get your current job position?)

Thanks in advance to anyone who answers these questions.

2. jgmacg

jgmacg Guest

Be gentle, friends. If not for him/her, for me. Thanks.

3. joe king

joe king Active Member

All right, I'll do it.

Want my advice?

RUN!!!!! RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!!!!!! GO FIND ANOTHER BUSINESS -- ANY OTHER BUSINESS -- TO GET INTO!!!!!! RUN NOW, BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE!!!!!!!

There. I've done my duty.

4. jps

jps Active Member

um ... I ... hmm ...
    english second language, maybe?
    otherwise ... nm. too tired to type out the obvious ... and don't want to take the joy away from others. have at it, SportsJournalists.commers.

5. TwoGloves