1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Della9250, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    The initial list is out and it's 108 names, and somehow includes a long snapper. Gotta cut to 25 in November:

    The 108 modern-era nominees with first-year candidates in caps:

    Drew Bledsoe, BRETT FAVRE, Steve McNair, Phil Simms, Vinny Testaverde, Kurt Warner

    Shaun Alexander, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Edgerrin James, Daryl Johnston, Jamal Lewis, CLINTON PORTIS, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters, BRIAN WESTBROOK

    Isaac Bruce, Gary Clark, Henry Ellard (also PR), Marvin Harrison, Torry Holt, TERRELL OWENS, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith

    TIGHT ENDS (2)
    Mark Bavaro, Jay Novacek

    Tony Boselli (T), Jeff Bostic, Jim Covert (T), ALAN FANECA (G), Jay Hilgenberg (c), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull, Joe Jacoby (T), Jon Jansen (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Mark May (G/T/C), Tom Nalen (c), Nate Newton (G), Orlando Pace (T), Chris Samuels (T), Mark Schlereth (G), Steve Wisniewski (G)

    Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Leslie O'Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Fred Smerlas (NT), Bryant Young (DT)

    Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, KEITH BULLUCK, Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey, Levon Kirkland, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Matt Millen, Sam Mills, Zach Thomas, MIKE VRABEL

    Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), John Lynch (S), LAWYER MILLOY (SS), DARREN SHARPER (FS), Shawn Springs (CB), Troy Vincent (CB/S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)

    Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), JOHN CARNEY (K), Jason Elam (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)

    ETHAN ALBRIGHT (LS), Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB), Steve Tasker (also WR)

    COACHES (15)
    Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tony Dungy, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Pete Rodriguez, Lou Saban, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil
  2. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Well-Known Member

    Darren Sharper?
  3. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    Interesting to note: Obviously there are five guaranteed spots open because of the inductees. But here are the changes from last year

    Drew Bledsoe, BRETT FAVRE, Steve McNair Vinny Testaverde added; Randall Cunningham and Rich Gannon were dropped

    CLINTON PORTIS and BRIAN WESTBROOK added; none dropped

    TERRELL OWENS addedl none dropped

    Jay Novacek added

    Willie Anderson, ALAN FANECA added; Lomas Brown, Bill Fralic, Tra Tomas dropped

    Leslie O'Neal, Simeon Rice added; Al “Bubba” Baker, Jerome Brown, Carl Hairston, Jevon Kearse, Steve McMichael, Greg Townsend, Ted Washinton dropped

    KEITH BULLUCK, MIKE VRABEL, Levon Kirkland added; Chris Spielman, Darryl Talley dropped

    LAWYER MILLOY, DARREN SHARPER added; Thomas Everett, Terry McDaniel, Tim McDonald, Frank Minnifield dropped

    JOHN CARNEY added; none dropped

    ETHAN ALBRIGHT added; none dropped

    Pete Rodriguez added
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2015
  4. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    As Peter King likes to say -- on the field is the only criteria for this voting
  5. cjericho

    cjericho Well-Known Member

    Can cellmates give induction speeches?
    cyclingwriter2 likes this.
  6. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    My guess at the final 25:
    Favre, Warner, Terrell Davis, Craig, James, Bruce, Harrison, T.O., Faneca, Jacoby, Kenn, Mawae, Pace, Greene, Mecklenburg, Atwater, Law, Lynch, Woodson, Morton Anderson, Tasker, Coryell, Cowher, Dungy, Jimmy Johnson
  7. JackReacher

    JackReacher Well-Known Member

    Portis, Clark, Jacoby, Samuels, Manley, Mann, Mitchell.
  8. Big Circus

    Big Circus Well-Known Member

    Ethan Albright was the guy with the worst Madden rating, right?
  9. cyclingwriter2

    cyclingwriter2 Well-Known Member

    Sad to see bubba baker dropped. Have to love a guy who tried to eat his way out of a contract.
  10. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    Peter King's guess at the 15 finalists:

    So here’s a guess about which 15 will be left standing entering the Feb. 6 vote:

    Quarterback (2): Brett Favre, Kurt Warner.

    Running back (1): Terrell Davis.

    Wide receiver (3): Isaac Bruce, Marvin Harrison, Terrell Owens.

    Offensive line (3): Tony Boselli, Alan Faneca, Orlando Pace.

    Linebacker (1): Kevin Greene.

    Defensive back (1): Ty Law.

    Kicker (1): Morten Andersen.

    Coaches (3): Don Coryell, Tony Dungy, Jimmy Johnson.

    What I love is that PK does the obvious in putting 9 of the finalists back in there, which is the right call. So he has six slots. Yet he left off John Lynch, who has made the final 15 each of the last two years, and then threw in both Law AND Boselli. Boselli hasn't even made the semifinal list despite being on the initial list every year since 2009. At least Law made the semifinals in his first chance last year.
  11. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

  12. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    The 25 semifinalists have been announced

    Morten Andersen
    Steve Atwater
    Tony Boselli
    Isaac Bruce
    Don Coryell
    Roger Craig
    Terrell Davis
    Tony Dungy
    Alan Faneca
    Brett Favre
    Kevin Greene
    Marvin Harrison
    Torry Holt
    Joe Jacoby
    Edgerrin James
    Jimmy Johnson
    Mike Kenn
    Ty Law
    John Lynch
    Kevin Mawae
    Karl Mecklenburg
    Sam Mills
    Terrell Owens
    Orlando Pace
    Kurt Warner
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page