1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

2012 Pro Football Hall of Fame Semifinalists

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Della9250, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    Here are the 27 to be cut to 15. All 10 finalists from last year made the cut, so it might be safe to assume there are only five openings.

    Larry Allen, G/T
    Morten Andersen, K
    Steve Atwater, S
    Jerome Bettis, RB
    Tim Brown, WR / KR
    Cris Carter, WR
    Don Coryell, Coach
    Roger Craig, RB
    Terrell Davis, RB
    Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner
    Kevin Greene, LB/DE
    Charles Haley, DE/LB
    Joe Jacoby, T
    Albert Lewis, CB
    John Lynch, FS
    Karl Mecklenburg, LB
    Art Modell, Owner
    Jonathan Ogden, T
    Bill Parcells, Coach
    Andre Reed, WR
    Warren Sapp, DT
    Will Shields, G
    Michael Strahan, DE
    Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner
    Steve Tasker, ST/WR
    Aeneas Williams, CB/S
    George Young, Contributor
  2. CD Boogie

    CD Boogie Well-Known Member

    No Ray Guy...

  3. Bob Cook

    Bob Cook Active Member

    The family of Art Modell showing up in Canton to accept his bust would be a sight to behold... though, in actuality, no one would show up.
  4. Huggy

    Huggy Well-Known Member

    Despise the Bills but would love to see Steve Tasker get a shot but I know that ain't happening.
  5. Versatile

    Versatile Active Member

    Should an elite lefty specialist make the Baseball Hall of Fame?
  6. Huggy

    Huggy Well-Known Member

    If we possibly the best elite lefty specialist ever? Yeah, maybe he gets the same consideration that Tasker has. Good to see him at least get to this point.
  7. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    I know the logjam for the baseball hall is coming, but you could easily make the next four classes to Canton at five-men apiece off this list, not accounting for newcomers.
  8. Versatile

    Versatile Active Member

    On the nominees thread, I made a list of 16 guys who deserved to make it eventually. Thirteen made this list, and two of the three aren't surprising and don't bother me much, Bill Cowher and Robert Kraft. But I hate that Steve Sabol was snubbed.
  9. Pancamo

    Pancamo Active Member

    Larry Allen, G/T---------yes
    Morten Andersen, K-----no
    Steve Atwater, S--------no
    Jerome Bettis, RB-------yes
    Tim Brown, WR / KR----yes
    Cris Carter, WR---------yes
    Don Coryell, Coach-----no
    Roger Craig, RB---------no
    Terrell Davis, RB--------no
    Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner---no
    Kevin Greene, LB/DE -------no
    Charles Haley, DE/LB------yes
    Joe Jacoby, T-------------yes
    Albert Lewis, CB----------no
    John Lynch, FS-----------no
    Karl Mecklenburg, LB----no
    Art Modell, Owner--------no
    Jonathan Ogden, T-------yes
    Bill Parcells, Coach-------yes
    Andre Reed, WR----------yes
    Warren Sapp, DT---------yes
    Will Shields, G------------yes
    Michael Strahan, DE------no
    Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner ---no
    Steve Tasker, ST/WR-------hell no
    Aeneas Williams, CB/Sf-----no
    George Young, Contributor---no
  10. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    I think the Sabol omission is that they used a spot for his dad two elections ago and they didn't want to use another contributor spot so soon. Looking at this list, I think Parcells will be elected and he will be the only non-player in the final 15. They have to pick four players to get rid of some spots, especially receiver and o-line.
  11. outofplace

    outofplace Well-Known Member

    So the best at being not good enough to start. Not a chance, though Tasker did eventually become somewhat useful as a receiver.
  12. RonClements

    RonClements Well-Known Member

    No way Warren Sapp should get in. Was an a-hole and a dirty player when he played and still is a moronic a-hole.
    This has got to be the year to get one or two of these receivers in - Cris Carter, Andre Reed and Tim Brown all deserve to be enshrined.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page