1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

2009 NSSA Award Winners and Hall of Fame Inductees

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Sammi, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. Sammi

    Sammi Member

    To be announced Monday... will be posted at nssafame.com.
  2. Sammi

    Sammi Member

    SALISBURY, NC (January 18, 2010) – Already Hall of Famers in their respective sports, baseball’s Peter Gammons and football’s John Madden have been inducted into the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame. NSSA Executive Director Dave Goren made the announcement on Monday. Gammons and Madden will be inducted May 3rd at the NSSA’s Annual Awards Banquet in Salisbury.

    Joining Gammons and Madden will be National Sportscaster of the Year Jim Nantz of CBS Sports and National Sportswriter of the Year Bob Ryan of The Boston Globe. Nantz and Ryan are repeat winners. They will also be honored at the NSSA Awards Banquet, along with 106 winners of State Sportscaster and Sportswriter of the Year Awards.

    Like Ryan, Gammons cut his teeth at The Boston Globe. In fact, the two started work as interns at The Globe on the same day in 1968. Gammons went on to revolutionize the way baseball was covered. His Sunday Notes column often filled an entire page. After leaving The Globe, Gammons went on to a successful career at Sports Illustrated. He won three NSSA National Sportswriter of the Year Awards between 1989 and 1993. Since then, Gammons has become well-known as a baseball expert on television. He just ended a long stint at ESPN and can now be seen on the MLB Network (he also writes for mlb.com) and New England Sports Network (NESN).

    Madden won a Super Bowl as the Oakland Raiders’ head coach, then embarked on a long television career that saw him become the preeminent pro football analyst of the last 30 years. Known for his colorful personality as a commentator, Madden worked for CBS, Fox, ABC and ESPN. He was the NSSA National Sportscaster of the Year in 1984. Madden parlayed his fame as an announcer into commercials and a best-selling video game. He retired in April 2009.

    This is Nantz’s fifth National Sportscaster of the Year Award (other wins in 1998, 2005, 2007 and 2008). Only Bob Costas (eight) and Chris Berman (six) have won more National Sportscaster of the Year Awards. CBS’s lead play-by-play man for golf, college basketball and NFL football, Nantz started at CBS in 1985 after a short career in local TV sports.

    Ryan has won three straight NSSA National Sportswriter of the Year Awards and four overall. He has spent his entire career at The Boston Globe, where he covered the Boston Celtics’ beat for 15 years. He has been a general columnist for more than 20 years and has branched out into radio and television during that time, making frequent appearances on ESPN’s The Sports Reporters.

    AL Chris Stewart, Tuscaloosa Kevin Scarbinsky, Birmingham

    AR Phil Elson, North Little Rock Bob Wisener, Hot Springs

    CA Greg Papa, Oakland Bill Dwyre, Los Angeles

    CO Drew Goodman, Denver Dave Krieger, Denver

    CT Kevin Nathan, Hartford Jeff Jacobs, Hartford

    DE Scott Klatzkin, New Castle Kevin Tresolini, Wilmington
    John Sadak, Wilmington

    FL David Steele, Orlando Gary Shelton, St. Petersburg

    GA Wes Durham, Atlanta Furman Bisher, Atlanta

    HI Bobby Curran, Honolulu T.V. Mott, Maui
    Stephen Tsai, Honolulu

    ID Dave Tester, Meridian Brian Murphy, Boise

    IL Pat Hughes, Chicago Dave Reynolds, Peoria
    Rick Telander, Chicago

    IN Don Fischer, Indianapolis Terry Hutchens, Indianapolis

    IA Larry Morgan, Des Moines Rick Brown, Des Moines

    KS Bob Davis, Lawrence Kevin Haskin, Topeka

    KY Mary Jo Perino, Lexington Larry Vaught, Danville

    LA Dave Nitz, Ruston Randy Rosetta, Baton Rouge

    ME Rich Kimball, Orono Peter Warner, Bangor
    Clem LaBree, Bangor

    MD Craig Heist, Baltimore Thom Loverro, Columbia

    MA Mike Lynch, Needham Dan Shaughnessy, Boston

    MI No Winner Bob Wojnowski, Detroit

    MN Dave Lee, Minneapolis Charley Walters, St. Paul
    Mike Grimm, Minneapolis

    MO John Covington, Washington Craig Vonder Haar, Washington

    MT Rocky Erickson, Billings Scott Mansch, Great Falls
    Mick Holien, Polson

    NE Kevin Kugler, Omaha Lee Barfknecht, Omaha
    Mike Babcock, Lincoln

    NV Russ Langer, Las Vegas Ed Graney, Las Vegas

    NH Mike Murphy, Concord Allen Lessels, Manchester

    NJ Mike Gill, Atlantic City Brian Cunniff, Wildwood
    Tom Williams, Ocean City

    NM Van Tate, Albuquerque Felix Chaves, Las Cruces

    NY Bruce Beck, New York City Phil Mushnick, New York City

    NC Woody Durham, Chapel Hill *Tom Berry, High Point
    Mick Mixon, Charlotte

    ND Rod Kleinjan, Dickinson Wayne Nelson, Grand Forks

    OH Marty Brennaman, Cincinnati Hal McCoy, Dayton

    OK Bob Barry, Jr., Oklahoma City Dave Sittler, Tulsa
    Dean Blevins, Oklahoma City

    OR Joe Becker, Portland Rachel Bachman, Portland
    Katy Brown, Portland

    PA Merrill Reese, Philadelphia Rich Hofman, Philadelphia

    RI Steve Hyder, Pawtucket Joe McDonald, Providence
    Steve McDonald, Providence

    SC Tony Ciuffo, Charleston Ron Morris, Columbia
    Mike Morgan, Columbia

    SD Al Decker, Deadwood Mick Garry, Sioux Falls

    TN Mike Keith, Nashville Brent Hubbs, Knoxville

    TX Eric Nadel, Arlington Evan Grant, Dallas

    UT Dana Greene, Salt Lake City Dirk Facer, Salt Lake City

    VT George Commo, Waterbury Ted Ryan, Burlington

    VA Lane Casadonte, Richmond David Teel, Newport News

    WA Bill Krueger, Bellevue John Blanchette, Spokane

    WV Steve Cotton, Huntington Jack Bogaczyk, Charleston

    WI Matt LePay, Madison Gary D'Amato, Milwaukee

    WY Reece Monaco, Cheyenne Eric Schmoldt, Casper

    Jim Nantz, CBS Sports Bob Ryan, The Boston Globe


    John Madden, ABC, Fox, CBS, NBC, ESPN Peter Gammons, Sports Illustrated, ESPN.com


    About NSSA – The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association was founded in 1959 in Salisbury, NC by a local group interested in honoring sportscasters and sportswriters for their crafts. More than 700 NSSA members from several sports media fields vote annually for State and National Sportscasters and Sportswriters of the Year. An annual banquet is held in Salisbury each spring to present the winners with their awards. In 1962, a Hall of Fame was added. Starting with Grantland Rice, more than 80 sports media legends have been inducted into the NSSA Hall of Fame.

    NSSA Mission Statement -- The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association & Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization, dedicated to honoring, preserving and celebrating the legacy of sportscasters and sportswriters in the United States – for their creativity in storytelling, their pursuit of truth and their conveyance of information – all of which helps American sports fans form lifelong connections to both participatory and spectator sports. NSSA also seeks to develop educational opportunities for those who are interested in pursuing a career in sports media, through networking, mentoring and scholarship programs.

    For more information, go to www.nssafame.com, or call (704) 633-4275
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page