1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

100 Cooking Tips

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by JR, Apr 28, 2007.

1. JR

JR Well-Known Member

I'm a pretty good cook but there were some tips here I didn't know, like this one:

16. Here's a low-tech way to test the doneness of roast turkey or chicken. Poke a metal skewer into the flesh and carefully touch the tip to your hand or cheek. If it's very hot, the meat is done. (Just don't burn yourself.) This method always makes me laugh. It was passed on to me by my mother-in-law, who learned to cook without a lot of kitchen gadgets.

http://www.thestar.com/Life/article/206650

2. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

Yeah, 160 degrees is VERY hot.

3. leo1

leo1 Active Member

true. but isn't 130 pretty damn hot, too? a 130-degree chicken isn't done.

4. farmerjerome

farmerjerome Active Member

Before I give my tip, let me point out that I do very little cooking.

From an Easter mishap, make sure that when you bake cookies the baking powder is evenly distributed.

5. Frank_Ridgeway

Frank_Ridgeway Well-Known Member

Good stuff, JR.

18. Use refrigerated or frozen leftover potatoes, boiled, baked or mashed, to make creamy soups without cream. Add the spuds to simmering vegetables in stock, then purée.