1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

bringing a story to fruition

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by ScooterP, Feb 4, 2007.

1. ScooterP

ScooterP New Member

I am a freelance writer who mostly gets called for assignments. One of my goals is to pitch a story and then get it published. Here is my problem. I get good ideas but I can't seem to bring them to fruition. They often break down due to lack of organization and direction. The Wall Street Journal Guide to Feature Writing suggests making a page and listing who, what, when, where, why and how and filling those areas in to flush a story's true character out. What are some of your suggestions?

Anything you can tell is most appreciated.

2. jgmacg

jgmacg Guest

Scoots -

Do you mean you're having trouble organizing the stories sufficiently to pitch them? Or that you're having trouble organizing the story itself once you've begun the research/writing process? Reframe your questions a little more narrowly, and we'll go through this point by point.

This has the potential to be a good thread here, because a lot of us struggle in these same areas.

I think we all conceive/pitch/organize our work differently. It's pretty idiosyncratic, so finding out what works for you specifically is going to be important. It's as much a creative issue as it is a question of mechanics.