1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

The NYT and The Athletic

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Alma, Jun 17, 2022.

1. Mr. X

Mr. X Active Member

I am an editor for an organization where space is not an issue. The only time we don't post something is when a story has a fatal flaw that cannot be corrected, which is less than 1% of the time.

2. ChrisLong

ChrisLong Well-Known Member

Listen, Old Crank, I read your post 6 times then sat on it for half a day before responding. Then I read it twice more.
    Thus, please explain what your second sentence means: "I think it's more that the editors for whatever reason are choosing not to publish enough." Now you tell us the editors aren't holding back stories. Which is it?
    The rest of your posts says in so many words that the underlying philosophy of EVERYBODY from the owners, to the supervisors, to the editors, to the writers is to sell subscriptions. That's why your post is convoluted. If there is any misunderstanding, it comes from your end.

3. Sports Barf

Sports Barf Well-Known Member

What planet am I on right now

PaperClip529 likes this.
  4. Alma

Alma Well-Known Member

Outstanding.

5. Old Crank

Old Crank Active Member

I get it now. Small Potatoes and Chris Long are the same person.

6. ChrisLong

ChrisLong Well-Known Member

That's your lowest shot ever. And, no, I guess you don't get it.

7. BYH 2: Electric Boogaloo

BYH 2: Electric Boogaloo Well-Known Member

As long as it's one where we can still get 2,000 words on hot dogs in hockey press boxes, all will be well.

Sports Barf likes this.
  8. BYH 2: Electric Boogaloo