1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Looking for some feedback on an esports article

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by Mike Hebert, Jul 24, 2019.

1. Mike Hebert

Mike Hebert New Member

Hey all,

First post here, really enjoying these forums. I've been reading a lot on here and appreciate this community.

I wanted to see if I could get some feedback on this recent story I wrote on esports in Atlanta. My editor wanted me to essentially explain esports to our readers and use the event (an Overwatch league team Atlanta Reign's first time hosting in Atlanta) as a scene.

This is my first time writing on esports and I'm aware its sort of a new thing, but just wanted to see if anyone had any thoughts.

Esports is rapidly growing, and Atlanta has a lot to do with it

Thanks!

2. jlee

jlee Well-Known Member

Mike,

This is great stuff. You reported a lot of things I did not know, and I ended the article feeling more informed. I know that seems basic, but SO MANY sports features by longtime pros fail to do that. So thanks.

In terms of improvement:

— Avoid generalizations whenever possible. You nearly lost my attention with the second paragraph about what “most sports fans” expect. You were at an event. Tell me more about what you heard and saw there. I’d rather read something a bit too flowery about a real observation than an analysis based on assumption.