1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Balance: Work and Family

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by newspaperman, May 10, 2011.

1. crimsonace

crimsonace Well-Known Member

Pretty interesting Frankenthread to come back to life ... I thought when I left my SE job for education 13 years ago, that was it. It was a clean break.

I've been a full-time high school teacher for 13 years and was a daily newspaper reporter for nine. Yet, I still consider myself a journalist, not a teacher (and yes, I do teach journalism for 1/3 of my day, but I wasn't hired into that position). I was named my school's Teacher of the Year a couple of years back and still feel like a fish out of water in the classroom and at home when I'm writing (I mention that not to toot my own horn, but simply to point out you *can* be successful in another field and it still feel foreign to you).