1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

2018-19 NFL coaching carousel thread

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by HappyCurmudgeon, Dec 30, 2018.

Tags:
  1. CD Boogie

CD Boogie Well-Known Member

upload_2019-1-10_15-32-5.png

"Boys, in my first year as a college coach, I led my team to the Holiday Bowl -- and we won!"

TigerVols likes this.
  2. Alma

Alma Well-Known Member

Tommy Tuberville managed to have a winning record there. Actually, the last three head coaches did, and Mike Leach was downright great there.

Kliff, though, not so much.

With Patrick Mahomes at QB.

Hermes likes this.
  3. Hermes

Hermes Well-Known Member

Touche.

I do think there's respect for his offensive mind and a feeling it could work in the NFL where it didn't in college.

4. DanOregon

DanOregon Well-Known Member

The problem was never the offense at Tech, but the D.

5. Hermes

Hermes Well-Known Member

Of course, but there are all sorts of variables that are different in building an NFL defense and a college defense.

Reputation matters so much more in college because of the recruiting element. For someone my age (34) and younger, Texas Tech is just the place where Mike Leach put up a million points and didn't care about defense. Why would a top defensive recruit even consider Tech?

In the NFL, I just don't think those reputations matter. Coaches turn over every couple years. You get to draft whoever you want and that player has to play in your uniform.