1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Annual Christmas Party/ Bonus Thread: 2018 Edition

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Doc Holliday, Dec 18, 2018.

1. CD Boogie

CD Boogie Well-Known Member

I was a journalist for 20 years, for both newspapers and online. The only Christmas "bonus" I ever received was a lunch buffet. Of course I usually worked at night, so most of the good vittles were long gone by then.

Doc Holliday likes this.
  2. Cosmo

Cosmo Well-Known Member

Need to put the next issue of the magazine to bed today, but once that's done, nothing will get done the next two days. We hold a Christmas luncheon with copious amounts of alcohol at a local restaurant tomorrow and then come back to the office for a putting contest and more booze. Half the staff is off Friday as it is, so I doubt anything gets accomplished. As for bonuses, we usually get ours in February once the books are closed on 2018 and the board can approve. They're tied to an incentive program. It's been a significant bonus my first three years here. Might be a little lower this year, but should still be good.

Tweener and JackReacher like this.
  3. DanOregon

DanOregon Well-Known Member

Worked at a place that actually had a prize drawing for gift certificates - so some got bonuses, some didn't. Worked another place for a few weeks and everyone got a liter of Knob Creek. THAT was a great bonus.

Donny in his element likes this.
  4. poindexter

poindexter Well-Known Member

I just..... I can't even imagine.

I can't imagine the gall of giving a 'bonus' that wouldn't even buy a McDonald's dinner for three.