1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What other fields do our skills translate to?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by JN7281994, Feb 28, 2018.

1. JN7281994

JN7281994 New Member

Hello all,

Long time reader, first time poster.

I've been out of college for nearly two years, and I work as a regular high school sports stringer at a large daily in a big city.

That being said, I've found my opportunities for growth at this paper are non-existent, and I've had difficulty in my job search otherwise. I've been on a couple interviews, but no dice. I'm writing less and less at my 'job' and I need to pay off my student loans. (I get paid by the story). I'll need health insurance soon, too.

I'm not 100 percent set on throwing in the towel, yet, but: For those of you who have left the field, where have you found work? I've heard in the past that the skillset of a journalist translates well to many other fields. What are they? I know P.R. is the stock answer, but what specific P.R. jobs have people found employment in?

In addition, do those of you who have left find enjoyment and fulfillment in your work? Obviously, I got into journalism because I love it, and in my head, leaving the field would mark a departure from working for passion. But is it possible to find purpose in other fields? (I know this sounds silly).

2. BTExpress

BTExpress Well-Known Member