1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Can I use answers to questions asked by other interviewers?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by jasonjones, Feb 15, 2017.

1. jasonjones

jasonjones New Member

Hi,
    I'm a journalism student and was lucky to interview a football player last weekend.

I interviewed him with 3 other journalists in a group setting, with each of us getting to ask two rounds of questions.

I am now currently writing the article from this interview.

Questions:
    1. From a legal standpoint, can I use the football player's answers to questions asked by other journalists (verbatim)? And them mine?
    2. What are the ethical standards in writing an article about interviews in a group setting?
    3. What is the typical approach in writing an article from this situation?

I have not experienced this before, so I have been searching the internet on how pros write their articles when their materials come from other interviewers in the same interview session, but have not found much.

Hope the kind souls would give me some advice. :)
    Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Feb 15, 2017
  2. SFIND

SFIND Well-Known Member

1. Yes.
    2. Have you ever read anything that came from a press conference?
    3. You should know this before you ever interview. Ask a professor during office hours.

You are not "lucky" to interview an athlete. If you want to be a journalist, it is your job. It's no luck, it's a requirement.

3. Baron Scicluna

Baron Scicluna Well-Known Member

1. Yes, you can, but make it clear that he was speaking to a group of reporters.