1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Question about writing timely postgame stories in dual reporter/copy editor role

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by DS313, Jul 21, 2016.

1. DS313

DS313 New Member

Hey everyone,

I'm in my first year as a full time beat reporter, and am still getting adjusted to the everyday grind of having to publish stories daily. The specific challenge I have is that I'm both a writer and my own copy editor (started as the latter, so the bosses figured I could pull double duty). Because of this, I find myself struggling at times to write postgame stories for the web on (relative) deadline without it being the best it can be in terms of the copy.

I'm very OCD about clean copy, so I wind up fretting that I'll let a mistake or two slip once my story is published. When I say mistake, I mean a basic typo or grammar issue, nothing that relates to the premise or structure of the story. If I have to, I go back and fix something once the post is up, but I always feel a bit dirty for tinkering with an already published story if there's no new information to add.

How do the more experienced guys here deal with this kind of thing? Is speed and quality something that come through trial and error? And am I journalistically in the wrong if I have to edit something after it's published? Thanks!

2. HandsomeHarley

HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

I hate to say it, DS, but most of us are at the point that we no longer give a shit.