1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Missing It

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by moonlight, Apr 25, 2016.

1. moonlight

moonlight Member

After almost 20 years in the business, I left newspapers a year ago. I now work in marketing. It's great on payday, and I don't have the daily stress of potential layoffs. But it doesn't scratch me where I itch.

I miss my old job.

I miss writing on deadline. I miss the "off the record" time with coaches after the interview. I miss writing enterprise features. I miss the press box during rain delays and the sidelines on Friday nights. I miss newsroom banter, bets and bragging. I miss picking up the paper and seeing my story. I miss the sound of the press. I miss keeping stats. I miss road trips.

I just miss the whole damn mess.

Anyone else who left the business feel this way?

Bronco77 likes this.
  2. Michael_ Gee

Michael_ Gee Well-Known Member

At first I did, acutely and in just the way you describe. But as time passed, the feeling ebbed gradually, so gradually I didn't really notice. It still flares up when I'm watching an exciting event and thinking, "Damn it'd be fun to write this one on deadline." But more and more often, my reaction to a good game now is "hey, I can turn off the TV and go to bed!"
    Road trips were the first thing I stopped missing. That took about a week.