1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Peak Twitter

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Twirling Time, Feb 11, 2016.

1. Twirling Time

Twirling Time Well-Known Member

For the first time, the number of accounts on Twitter worldwide did not increase from quarter to quarter. In fact, it lost 2 million users and the stock took a bath overnight, although it looks like it's bounced back.

Twitter is losing customers and its stock is falling

2. TigerVols

TigerVols Well-Known Member

I work in Twitter for a living...so I can say with some authority that the parts of Twitter that are not fraudulent, are a mess.

3. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

There's simply not room enough for Facebook and Twitter in this world. Once Facebook became a real news feed, Twitter's days were numbered. I think there's a thread around here where we speculate about how long Twitter will exist.

It was trading at nearly $53 less than a year ago. As of right now, it's under $15.

4. Dick Whitman

In October 2013, I started a thread about the Twitter IPO. It only got one response, but here was my post:

5. SFIND

SFIND Well-Known Member

Yes there is, as long as Twitter embraces what is and quits trying to be an equal to Facebook.

6. Dick Whitman

OK, but what is unique about it that it should embrace at this point? Are you talking about the introduction of a relevance algorithm as a mis-step?

7. TyWebb

TyWebb Well-Known Member