1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Summer Article Ideas for small town USA

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Long Snapper, Jan 31, 2016.

1. Long Snapper

Long Snapper New Member

Hey guys I am a freelance sports writer and I recently picked up a freelancing gig for a small company that owns two papers covering four towns. Right now, the job seems simple enough. They haven't had any sports content in probably about two years, so I'm piling up all the feature stories I can on any athlete of note from the area. But right now, my main worry is the summer time.

I know it's kind of the same anywhere when the bulk of the coverage depends heavily on high school sports. But for those who have worked for a paper in the middle of nowhere, what do you usually cover in the summer? One of the towns has a baseball team with some local D3 guys on it, so that's one I'll probably lean on and that same town might have a legions team. But for the other three towns, it seems like there will be absolutely nothing.

One thing I was thinking was maybe fishing reports and articles of that nature since there's a few lakes around. This isn't really my forte because in the summer, my main focus is the minors (PawSox) and some summer collegiate ball (Cape Cod League, NECBL, Futures League). I'm just picking up as much work as I can and don't want to leave these guys hanging.

Let me know if you guys have any suggestions.

2. Riptide

Riptide Well-Known Member

3. Batman

Batman Well-Known Member

I'll bite.