1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Study: You can only burn so many calories a day

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Dick Whitman, Jan 29, 2016.

1. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

2. Jake_Taylor

Jake_Taylor Well-Known Member

I'm no scientist, so I might be missing something here, but when I was an extremely active teenager I know I burned a hell of a lot of calories. I ate and ate and ate and never gained weight. Pizza, burgers, fries, steak, pop tarts, snickers. I ate cereal out of mixing bowls. Ate five meals a day. Also ran miles and miles or played basketball for four to six hours a day and struggled to get over 130 lbs. I was maybe a third as active in my early 20s and got up to 175 pretty quickly.

Isn't the flaw in the study that they only tracked this over seven days? If you work out like that daily for months your metabolism is going to speed up.

3. The Big Ragu

The Big Ragu Moderator Staff Member

Your body adapts to high activity levels. There is nothing that surprising about this. If you run 2 miles a day, upping it to 15 miles a day, isn't going to make you lose a ton of weight. But most people who exercise at least moderately and regularly don't have serious weight problems. So it's kind of a non story.

If you are a couch potato or lead a relatively inactive life, though, exercise is NOT an inefficient and ineffective way to lose weight. Even just taking the stairs every rday and walking to and from work every day is going to boost your metabolism and lead to weight loss.