1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

New sports writer looking for some feedback

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by knabhan, Jan 3, 2016.

1. knabhan

knabhan New Member

Hi,

I'm currently a freshman in college and decided my major was going to be Mass Communications with an emphasis on print journalism. In high school, I never wrote articles but was always super intrigued by sports. I took up a position in my university as a sports writer and then got promoted to the assistant sports editor by the time first semester finished. I'm looking for some feedback on a few of my articles thus far. My semester was mainly filled with covering Division I hockey and the occasional feature story as well. I have attached both one of my feature stories and one game recap as well. Any feedback would be great!

------

When faced with adversity, few choose to embrace and overcome their challenges. For Georgia high schooler and St. Cloud State wrestling recruit Devon Berry, his entire life has been one of persistence and determination. Berry and his twin sister were born with complications, which led to a diagnosis of cerebral palsy for Devon at the age of 3.

For Berry, giving up has never been an option. He’s a tri-sport athlete at Hampton High School in metro Atlanta who recently signed a wrestling scholarship to wrestle at reigning NCAA DII national champion St. Cloud State. Berry will attend St. Cloud State next fall, joining a wrestling team that contends for the NCAA Division II national title year after year.