1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Question about Job Hunting

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Halloffamer, Dec 11, 2015.

1. Halloffamer

Halloffamer New Member

I'm a sports writer for a mid-level paper but recently applied for a job at a much bigger paper. I really, really want this job. It's covering a pro team.

Anyways, I sent my clips, resume etc and the sports editor got back to me said they are interested in me, but had some management defections at the top of the paper. As a result, they won't fill the sports positions until sometime in mid to late Jan after the management hires are filled. (I suspect it will be longer bc it's multiple positions.)

Anyways, I emailed him back and thanked him for the update. That was a week ago and I've put it out of my head. But since then I've broken two big stories. One which touches on the team I'd likely be covering if I got this job.

My question is should I send the guy the 2 new clips with a very brief note explaining why I'm sending them to him. Or should I just leave it alone and not do anything to pester the editor. Want to stay on radar, but don't want to pester the guy.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Ben

2. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

Ben, I might keep my powder dry and reach out - with those clips - right at the end of the year, just say you're still interested and that you feel like you've been productive through the holiday season, etc., etc. Heck, you might break another story or two before the ball drops.

3. Riptide

Riptide Well-Known Member