1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Driving me bananas

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by sprtswrtr10, Dec 3, 2015.

1. sprtswrtr10

sprtswrtr10 Member

I've been the sports editor of a Big 12 city daily paper for almost 13 years. I cover a ton of major college sports, write columns, but I still cover a lot of preps. I'm a working sports editor that writes as much his guys and handles much of the stuff that falls through the cracks.

We've recently hired a new prep writer with boundless energy, which is terrific, but the idea that he knows the best way to do things on just about everything, which isn't. Perhaps I'll get response from youngsters like him, but also folks like me (47 years old, once upon a time I was the revolutionary, well respected, I know my shit). Because here are some things I can't imagine not doing as a prep writer.

— Keeping shots made and missed, rebounds, scoring sequence at a basketball game; not for the boxscore, but for the story. Don't you have to know what happened in the game? You might just need it. If you don't keep that stuff, you're coming up with every game story from the same narrow pallet. There's a foundation of knowledge you must be aware of.

— Keeping the full boxscore when covering prep football. Not just a scoring summary and notes.