1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How to cover HS sports without seeing the games?

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by PhillyDom, Aug 27, 2015.

1. PhillyDom

PhillyDom New Member

For the past two years, I've been covering HS sports for a small weekly (circ. 600) in Pennsylvania. This is my first time covering sports on a regular basis.

The paper has only one school in its coverage area. The editor (also the publisher) doesn't have the staff or the money to send a reporter to any games except football, basketball and baseball, When he hired me, he told me I'd cover the games by calling the coach for some quotes, getting a scorecard or box score by whatever means, and writing my stories based on that. I can't get to the games because I'm disabled, and I live 90 miles from the HS and the paper.

The editor hasn't had any issues about the quality of my work, but I do. The work has become formulaic: lede, week's scores, quote from coach, game recap, quotes, game recap, quotes, skied of the next week's games, quotes about next week's games (if space permits). The coaches have some degree of media savvy, so the quotes I get are often the types of cliches you hear at the pro level.

Contacting the players for quotes is cumbersome. Most of the coaches won't give me players' contact info, saying they'll let the players know I want to talk to them. Many don't call, some call back after deadline.

Writing other types of stories (profiles, etc.) if iffy. The paper is a six-page broadsheet, with only one page for sports. Most week's there wouldn't be space for extra stories.