1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Buying an engagement ring, need advice

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Beef03, May 13, 2015.

1. Beef03

Beef03 Active Member

Long time no speak y'all, but, hey, I've been busy.
    I am in need of advice, and as usual I cannot think of a better group of objective people to come to.
    I am shopping for an engagement ring. Being that this is my first time out the gate in this area, I'm looking for advice and I'm not prepared to just take everything the person who is working towards as big a commission as they can get at their word. And let's be honest, I'm a reporter, so it's not going to be that big of a commission.

My biggest question right now, is it worth getting a bridal set -- the matching engagement ring and wedding band -- or just focus on getting the engagement ring and worry about the wedding band later, let her pick that part out? I'm not taking her shopping for the engagement ring, I want that much to be a surprise, as is her preference (she mentioned without any prompting at all that her dad brought her mom along to pick out an engagement ring and her brother in law brought her sister along, and she hated the idea).
    Are there other things I need to be aware of while I'm looking?
    Any other bits of advice while shopping is much appreciated.

2. Buck

Buck Well-Known Member

best advice = don't do it
    second best advice = concentrate on getting a stone, that's the investment. you can get a ring made after you buy the stone

3. old_tony

old_tony Well-Known Member

I don't have any advice, but I would like to offer my congratulations.