1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

So I got an internship at my local newspaper, should I do it?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by kweonsam, Feb 12, 2015.

1. kweonsam

kweonsam New Member

I am in High School and I'm a senior. I'm going to be majoring in journalism soon, would this help my resume for future jobs although I am just a high school student?

2. BDC99

BDC99 Well-Known Member

Yes. As long as you aren't paying them to do it <crossthread>
    Why would you not do it? It's not often that high-school seniors get that chance. Though I should ask what you will be doing.

3. kweonsam

kweonsam New Member

It's a non-paid internship. Thanks for the advice.

I am being assigned to high school games (basketball, football, etc) and I have to write a story on the game.

4. BDC99

BDC99 Well-Known Member

Absolutely. Hopefully they will give you some guidance, but it sounds perfect to get some clips and have a head start. I didn't really have anything published until my junior year of college. Maybe that's why I ended up as a copy editor. :)

5. kweonsam

kweonsam New Member

Actually, I received no guidance at all haha. I was just told to go to the game tomorrow and write up a story while conducting interviews as well.

6. BDC99

BDC99 Well-Known Member

Uh oh. Maybe they'll give you some guidance after the fact. But hopefully they looked at your clips first, so that's a good sign that they have faith in you. No offense, but I'm not sure I'd send a student out solo to cover their first game. Go get 'em!

7. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member