1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Got my foot in the door. Now what?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by sportsguy47, Jan 22, 2015.

1. sportsguy47

sportsguy47 New Member

Hi everyone!
    After being a stringer for the past four months for my local paper, I was hired as a staff employee and scheduled to work 16 hours a week (I'm a 19-year-old college student) covering prep sports.

I guess my biggest question is if anyone with newspaper experience can give me some advice on how to progress from here. I must admit that it will be a bit intimidating when I start on February 3rd. I'm the youngest person on staff and most of the writers have been there 10+ years. I'll mainly be covering high school/ local college games like I was doing before, but now I'll be asked to do profile stories and I'll need to learn how to set up and format the paper. Are there any good books you guys suggest I read? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Baron Scicluna

Baron Scicluna Well-Known Member

Keep your eyes open and your mouth shut.

Oh, and congrats.

3. Doc Holliday

Doc Holliday Well-Known Member