1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

New SJ Owner

Discussion in 'SJ Site News & Suggestions' started by Jeff, Dec 5, 2014.

1. BDC99

BDC99 Well-Known Member

I'm an editor too, and not too bad if you ask me. But it's just a message board, for crying out loud.

2. jr/shotglass

jr/shotglass Well-Known Member

Jeff, we have this thing here we like to call "silly season" ... ;)

3. Jeff

Jeff Administrator Staff Member

You guys may not believe me, since I'm the one enforcing the edit time limit, but I do identify with getting annoyed about typos, and frequently edit my posts to fix them. I'm actually more persnickety about tweaking the phrasing of my writing so it reads a little better, pauses at just the right places, etc.

So I do empathize with you guys, and I agree that 48 hours isn't a perfect solution--there will be times you'll get frustrated you can't fix a typo. But the longer the edit period, the greater the percentage of edits being for the wrong reasons (spammer inserting links, ragequitter, etc) rather than the right reasons.

So I arbitrarily picked 48 hours, we'll try it and see how it goes.

@Evil... Thy Name is Orville Richenbacher! - Not sure if you saw, since you quoted the 5 minute post, but I made a decision later in the thread to make it 48 hours rather than 5 minutes.

4. BDC99

BDC99 Well-Known Member

Jeff, did you edit the previous post just to troll us? :)

5. Boom_70

Boom_70 Well-Known Member

That sounds more than fair but if I were you I would also ask for a copy of his Psyc Doctor's report as