1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Balance: Work and Family

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by newspaperman, May 10, 2011.

1. newspaperman

newspaperman Member

I'll go out on a limb and say that some of you have a family (wife, kids, etc.). I've been reporting for over two years now and have yet to balance the work/home relationship -- especially at a shop with a one-man sports department. For those with a family, how have you dealt with it, or did one have to kick rocks?

2. I'm really just posting here because I want to track this thread. I'm single and suspect I always will be because I'm not sure I can find a balance. If someone can tell me how to do it without leaving the job behind, I would love to find out the solution.

3. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

I think one big thing is, when you're home, be present. Don't waste away the hours watching the NBA Playoffs (unless it's with Junior). Don't keep one eye on the little one and one eye on ESPN.com. Or your Blackberry. Home means home. Wife and I try to have all screens off in the house, except for the occasional "Dora: The Explorer," when there are little ones about. In any job, your time is going to be limited. Make sure you are using it efficiently.

I think a lot of people would also tell you - and I'm one of them - that eventually it might be worth exploring a move to a day job, be it a news-side job or making a switch from something like MLB to something like college football or the NFL, although there is a reason that reporters like to keep a death grip on those beats.

Tweener likes this.
  4. Dick Whitman